PMP Application FAQ:PMP Exam Taking

  • Who is organizing the examination?

    PMP® examination in Hong Kong is organized and operated by Prometric. You will take the examination at San Po Kong Office of Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority.

  • What is the examination format?

    You will complete 200 multiple-choice questions in 4 hours.

    Each question consists of 4 options.

    You will be assigned a workstation in the test center where you answer questions on screen with mouse.

  • What is the requirement for a pass?

    There are 200 multiple-choice questions in the examination. 25 out of the 200 will be pretest questions from PMI to test the validity of future examination questions and they will not be scored.

    For the remaining 175 questions, an application must answer 106 of them correctly in order to pass the examination.

  • When will the examination be held?

    The examination is being held throughout the year. There is no regular annual / quarterly intake schedule.

  • When will I be informed about the exam result?

    Examination result is available right after the examination. The result includes an overall pass/fail result score and a breakdown by domain area.

  • What to watch-out on examination day?

    Besides being on time the most important issue on examination day is about your identification. You must present the identification document you used during online registration with Prometric at the premises. Since Hong Kong ID card is not accepted at online registration, you probably had chosen passport as your identifying document. In this case, you MUST have your passport with you. Test center will not accept Hong Kong ID card as alternative.

  • What if I fail? How I take the exam again?

    You are granted a 1-year eligibility period to pass the examination after the acceptance of online application. During the eligibility period, you may take the examination up to three times.

    If you cannot pass within the year, you must wait one year from the date of the last examination you took to reapply for the credential

    However, after failing a credential examination three times, candidates may opt to apply for any other PMI credential. For example, a candidate who failed the PMP examination three times in one-year eligibility period may apply for CAPM®, PMI-SP®, PMI-RMP® or PgMP® at any time.

PMP, CAPM, PMI-SP, PMI-RMP, and PgMP are registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc.